top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDanielle Markham

Out of Quarantine!

Hello!

Weeks 2 and 3 in Montana are over! Unlike the first week, it has gone by very fast. I didn't write a post last week because it was pretty much the same as the first week. This past week, however, we actually started our ministry with Cru.

On Friday, the 18th, we had a fall retreat for students at the University of Montana. It was so great and refreshing to finally meet all the students we had heard about for the first 2 weeks. This retreat lasted till Saturday night. During the retreat, we had Bible study times, worship, a scavenger hunt all over Missoula, and other fun interactive games. By Sunday, I was exhausted, as was most of the team. Switching from not doing any ministry outside of our team, to interacting with other people the whole weekend was exhausting, but it definitely recentered my focus on why I am here.

On Monday, we attended our first Young Life meeting. Young Life is a high school ministry that connects with and leads high school students to Jesus. It is a very relational oriented ministry. They focus on becoming friends with the students and growing relationships with them as we share Jesus with them. I really love this aspect of it because on Monday night, I was able to have some really good conversations with high school girls. We will have a meeting with Young Life every Monday, and I am really excited to get to serve with them.

The rest of the week was a combination of Cru meetings and team trainings with our leaders, Bob and Deanne. Team trainings take place almost everyday, and it is usually talking as a team about a variety of topics (evangelism, personal Bible study time, sabbath, conflicts, etc.) 

On Wednesday, we finally got to attend the weekly Cru meeting! I loved how interactive it was. The atmosphere was so open and comfortable, it felt like a family. 

These past weeks have been so good, and I have been able to see and feel God working while we were doing ministry. After feeling slightly stuck after two weeks of not being able to do much, God really came through and made this week of ministry so wonderful and fulfilling. The students we met are so kind and genuine. Our leaders are amazing and really do pour into our lives. Getting to serve next to my dear friends is....well, I wish I had a word to describe it. It is God-inspired so I can‘t ever really have the perfect word. I'm smiling right now as I write this, so hopefully that will be enough. As you can see, I really could go on and on about how God really worked through this week:) And I am SO excited to see how God will move in these next few months!


In the next couple weeks, we will be getting to know students from the university as well as Young Life. Reaching out to them and getting to share Jesus is something I'm really looking forward to. We will also be working with Congolese refugees this next week through tutoring school subjects, and helping in any way they need!


Here are some specific prayer requests!

  • Ministry with Young Life on Monday nights as well as meeting with students throughout the week from YL and the University of Montana .

  • Sunday picnic with Congolese refugees would go well

  • We would continue to grow together as a team, and that we would be able work through any conflicts that may arise.


In Christ,

Dani:)

Here are pictures from the last couple weeks!



94 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page