top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDanielle Markham

End of Gap Year

Hey guys!! Guess what? Gap year is officially over! I have been home for about a month now… although it feels like I just left. I haven’t been able to sit down and write out this last blog post because of my schedule! Before heading to college in the fall, I am working at Sky Ranch Camp in Van, Texas. This is an incredible opportunity, and I am so excited to continue my ministry in a new and different way.

So now, I am finally able to sit down and write this final post.


Processing gap year and everything God has taught me has been a slow process. But I have finally reached a point where most of my thoughts are not all over the place.


What I want to write in this blog post are a few highlights of what God did during gap year, and I also want to include what he has been teaching me over the past nine months.


First, I can’t help but think back to the very beginning when my team had no where to go.

Last fall, Covid-19 had prevented us from going overseas. Although this was very disappointing, God’s plan is always better. He provided Missoula, Montana, and Springfield, Missouri, as perfect opportunities for the gap team. Our time in Montana was filled with lots of learning opportunities. We worked through conflict, and by the grace of God, we left Montana as a stronger and more capable team ready for ministry.


Once we arrived in Springfield, our ministry took off. We were on campus almost every day, sharing the gospel and trying to get other Christians involved in community. My teammate Gabriel and I got to lead one girl to Christ, which was one of the greatest moments I experienced. Several of my other teammates got to experience leading others to Jesus too.


A year ago, I would have laughed if you told me that I was going to be sharing the gospel with nearly a hundred people on campus. But now, God has given me, and the rest of my team, the courage and boldness to share His truth with others.


God provided everything my team needed for this year. He also blessed me with some of the sweetest people, who are now my best friends. The community I gained through this year is incredible. God is so good.


Here are some things God taught me through gap year:


- Living in Christian community is so important. We cannot thrive without it.

- Nothing other than Jesus can satisfy me. Nothing.

- The Gospel isn’t just a one-time thing I acknowledge when I am saved. It is a vital part of everyday. I can’t live without knowing and remembering what Jesus has done for me.

- Evangelism isn’t a suggestion that Jesus gave us. It is a command.

- Resting with Jesus is just as important as going and out doing things.

- Don’t wait long to introduce the spiritually dead to their Savior.


I am so thankful that God called me to this trip. I would not go back and change anything because God has used everything for His purpose. He has changed my heart and called me to ministry. And because of that, I am so thankful for this year.


Basically, when God calls you to do something…do it. He will use it and bless you in ways you can’t imagine. It might be completely different than you thought. It might be painful and hard at time. But God uses those hard places to further his kingdom and sanctify you. In the end, it is all for his glory. So, if God gets glory from the hard places where I have to completely rely on him, or the joyful times when all I can do is shout for joy, then so be it. I will continue to praise Him.


I wanted to acknowledge and thank everyone who supported me through this year! Whether it was through prayer or donations, or both, I could not have done this year without the love and support I received. God has been so good.


Philemon 1:4, “I thank my God always as remember you in my prayers, because I hear of your love for all his holy people and of the faith in the Lord Jesus. I pray that your partnership with us in the faith may be effective in deepening your understanding of every good thing we share for the sake of Christ. Your love has given me great joy and encouragement, because you, brother, have refreshed the hearts of the Lord’s people.”


In Christ,


Dani



Our last team picture!



226 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page